Thursday, July 7, 2011

Kingdoms of Glory

       We read in the Bible that "There is one glory of the sun, and another glory of the moon, and another glory of the stars: for one star differeth from another star in glory."1 Christ taught, "In my Father’s house are many mansions..."2 But what exactly does that mean. We learn, from modern revelation, that there are three kingdoms of glory. The Celestial is where the righteous will dwell with Heavenly Father. The Terrestrial is where good people who did not fully accept the Gospel of Jesus Christ will live. The Telestial consists of "[Those] ... who received not the gospel of Christ, neither the testimony of Jesus."3
       Just like competing in any sporting event, we will be rewarded according to our performance. And don't forget that you can't break the rules. Everything must be done in God's way, through His priesthood power. There are no shortcuts to the Celestial kingdom. Paul explains in 1 Cor. 15, the kingdoms will differ in glory. The most glorious is the Celestial which is compared to the light of the sun, the Terrestrial to the moon, and Telestial to the stars.
       The Celestial Kingdom is where we all want to be. It is where we will be happiest. It is where we will be with our Father. May we all strive to live worthy to enter into the presence of God.

       For further details on this subject please see:

1. 1Corinthians 15:41
2. John 14:2
3. Doctrine and Covenants 76:82

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...